This 5-minute film documents the opening of Henry Austin Clark Jr.'s Long Island Automotive Museum on August 27, 1948 and then progresses to a typical day at the museum in the early 1950s.
"The Long Island Automotive Museum was founded by the prominent automobile collector and writer Henry Austin Clark Jr. in 1948 in Southampton on Long Island. The museum featured many unique cars including the Thomas Flyer car that won the 1908 Paris-New York Race. In the 1950s, the museum employed Joe Tracy, who participated in the 1904-1906 Vanderbilt Cup Races. Sadly, the museum closed its doors in 1980 and the collection was sold off."
The film was provided from the archives of the Long Island Old Car Club by Walter McCarthy.